Tuesday, June 16, 2009

Rival Schools- The Lost Album

The short lived New York post-hardcore band Rival Schools only officially released one full length album and one split ep in their four year career as a hardcore super group (they had members of Quicksand, CIV, Gorilla Biscuits, Youth of Today etc). The band was expected to release a second album (this one right here) in early 2003 but never did because guitarist Ian Love left the band to form another short lived super group, Cardia. All drama aside, the album is amazing. They create a huge sound of crashing guitars, melodic vocals, and pounding drums almost never lets up. There is also a great cover of the Buzzcocks' song "I Don't Know" included on the album. Rival Schools reunited in April of 2008 for some UK festivals and as of January 2009 are in the studio recording a new album.

Track Listing:
1. Just A Second
2. The Perspective Reach
3. I Don't Know
4. Your Answer
5. See What You Got
6. Looking
7. Don't Change
8. Shared Information
9. Surrending Positions
10. Seems So Real
11. Get Out Of This Place

No comments:

Post a Comment