Friday, June 19, 2009

As Tall As Lions- Blood and Aphorisms

Blood and Aphorisms was As Tall As Lions' first ep, released in 2002 and for a first release, it's pretty damn good. Musically, Blood isn't all that different from their later releases besides more fine tuning and creating bigger, more lustrous melodies. Some might also find singer Dan Nigro's voice on the ep to be almost winy at times but not enough to ruin the song. Several of the songs on this ep were re-recorded for their debut full length Lafcadio. If you're a fan of bands like Days Away and The Dear Hunter you'll definitely like As Tall As Lions' full lengths, both Lafcadio and their self titled album. They have a new album coming out August 18.

Track Listing:
1. Break Blossom
2. Dancing In The Rearview
3. And The Wick Burnt Black
4. A Fighting Word
5. If I'm Not Out Burning
6. Goodnite, Noises Everywhere

1 comment:

  1. I've been meaning to check out these guys since they're touring with Dredg and the RX Bandits this summer. Thanks for the up - I really dig a lot of the bands you post! Take it easy